Tip: Save iPhone storage by auto-removing old messages

Tip: Save iPhone storage by auto-removing old messages

Friends text photos to you all the time. Did you know that these photos take up a ton of space on your iPhone and iPad? If you've had an iPhone for several years, chances are pretty high that your Messages logs are well over one or two gigabytes (That's a lot!)

New in iOS 8, there's an easy way to have older messages automatically removed from your device. You can choose to either store messages for 30 days, 1 year, or forever. Here's how:

  1. Open Settings → Messages
  2. Scroll down and tap Keep Messages
  3. Choose either 30 Days or 1 Year

Now, your device will remain trimmed of those hefty, old images and videos. Keep in mind, though, that if you are sent a message that you would like to save, you'll have to tap the image and choose Save. That will place the keeper within your Photos app.

I am an Apple Certified Support Professional with over a decade of experience supporting families, schools, and businesses. Tech has always captured my imagination, but it's not my only passion. I'm an ordained Anglican minister;  Aeropress is a daily ritual of mine; I've driven across Mongolia; and I'm the father of three girls. I hope to provide for you a balanced and realistic perspective into the practicality of technology.